Eight Washington State University faculty members—including four in the College of Arts and Sciences—were elected to membership in the Washington State Academy of Sciences, an organization that advances science in the state and informs public policy.

The new members come from WSU campuses across the state and represent a range of scientific specialties. They’ll be officially inducted in September, in a ceremony at Seattle’s Museum of Flight.

The WSU scientists who were elected by their peers include:

Chris Keane.

Christopher Keane
Vice President for Research at WSU
Professor of physics



Julie Kmec

Julie Kmec
Edward R. Meyer Distinguished Professor in the Liberal Arts
Department of Sociology



Maureen Schmitter-Edgecombe.

Maureen Schmitter‑Edgecombe
Department of Psychology

Michael Skinner.

Michael Skinner
Eastlick Distinguished Professor in Health Sciences
School of Biological Sciences

Find out more

WSU Insider