Skip to main content Skip to navigation
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Honors and Achievements


Monica Kirkpatrick JohnsonMonica Kirkpatrick Johnson, professor and chair, sociology, was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for her “distinguished contributions to research on life course development focusing on how adolescents transitioning into adulthood is impacted by different social relationships and economic resources.”


Marina Tolmacheva.Marina Tolmacheva, professor emerita, history, received a Fulbright Fellowship to teach in Almaty, Kazakhstan, hosted by KIMEP University. She is also teaching a master’s level course on Eurasian history at Al-Farabi National University in Almaty. She will present a paper  in a panel titled “The Indian Ocean without Borders” at the Annual Meeting of the Middle East Studies Association in San Antonio, Texas.

Languages, Cultures, and Race

Vilma Navarro-Daniels.Vilma Navarro-Daniels, associate professor, languages, cultures, and race, authored “Suicide as a Form of Resistance: Sebastián Sepúlveda’s Film The Quispe Girls” in Letras Femeninas. She also presented the keynote address at the 21st International Congress in the Humanities: “Race, Gender, and Memory in New Chilean Cinema,” at the Metropolitan University of Sciences of Education, Santiago, Chile.


Sue Peabody.Sue Peabody, professor, history, WSU Vancouver, received two additional prizes for her book Madeline’s Children: Family, Freedom, Secrets, and Lies In France’s Indian Ocean Colonies (Oxford University Press): the French Colonial Historical Society’s Mary Alice and Philip Boucher Prize for “the best book dealing with the French colonial experience from the 16th century to 1815”; and the Western Association of Women Historians’ Frances Richardson Keller-Sierra Prize for “the best monograph in the field of history published by a WAWH member.”


Jesse Spohnholz.Jesse Spohnholz, associate professor, history, received two awards for his book, “The Convent of Wesel: The Event that Never was and the Invention of Tradition” (Cambridge University Press, 2017): the 2018 Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst and the German Studies Association’s DAA/GSA Book Prize for best book published in German history or the social sciences in the past two years; and the 2018 American Society of Church History’s Albert C. Outler Prize for the best book published in church history.