Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University
CAS Connect January 2014

Celebrate, share research, scholarship, creative expression

Academic Showcase call for abstracts

All CAS faculty, staff, graduate students, and professional students are invited to leverage the power of ideas by sharing knowledge with colleagues and the WSU community at Academic Showcase, March 28 on the Pullman campus.

Abstracts of up to 250 words can be submitted online until Tuesday, Jan. 28.

Academic Showcase and the Showcase for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (SURCA) are opportunities to explore original research with other scientists and scholars who are discovering new knowledge and making a difference in the world.

Both events are part of WSU Showcase, the University’s annual salute to faculty, staff, and student achievement.

Showcase 2014 events will begin March 27 with the Distinguished Faculty Address, presented by an individual whose achievements in research, scholarship, and teaching have been extraordinary. Ken Nash, professor in the Department of Chemistry, delivered the 2013 Distinguished Faculty Address.

On March 28, Academic Showcase and SURCA will be followed by the Celebrating Excellence banquet and program honoring recipients of WSU’s highest awards as well as newly tenured and promoted faculty.

Several members of the College of Arts and Sciences faculty and staff were honored with University-wide awards in Showcase 2013, including:

Nicholas P. Lovrich
Nicholas P. Lovrich

President’s Distinguished Lifetime Service Award

Nicholas P. Lovrich
Regents Professor Emeritus
Department of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs

President’s Employee Excellence Award

Heather Cochran, Academic Coordinator, Department of Psychology

President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Non-Tenure Track Faculty

Pamela Awana Lee, Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Fine Arts
Judy Meuth, Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Critical Culture, Gender, and Race Studies

Emeritus Society Legacy of Excellence Award

James F. Short, Professor Emeritus, Department of Sociology

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award

For Leadership
  Amy S. Wharton, Professor, Department of Sociology, and
Director, College of Arts and Sciences, WSU Vancouver
For Outreach and Engagement
  Clayton J. Mosher, Professor, Department of Sociology, WSU Vancouver
For Research, Scholarship, and Arts
  Kerry W. Hipps, Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry

Distinguished Faculty Award

Kenneth L. Nash, Professor, Department of Chemistry

Regents Professor

Eugene A. Rosa (deceased), Professor, Department of Sociology, and Edward R. Meyer Distinguished Professor of Natural Resource and Environmental Policy, Thomas S. Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service

Learn more about WSU Showcase, Academic Showcase, SURCA, and Abstract Submission Guidelines.