AAAS Fellow honors for WSU faculty

Monica Johnson-KirkpatrickMonica Kirkpatrick Johnson, professor and chair of the Department of Sociology, is one of three WSU faculty named as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The honor, bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers, recognizes Johnson for her “distinguished contributions to research on life course development focusing on how adolescents transitioning into adulthood is impacted by different social relationships and economic resources.”

She is a leading researcher in understanding well-being and achievement in adolescence and the transition to adulthood, serves on the editorial board for four journals, and is an elected member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences.

Johnson and her WSU colleagues will be formally recognized during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. on Feb. 16, 2019.

Read more in the WSU Insider >>