Six CAS faculty to be honored at Showcase celebration

The Office of the Provost has selected Maureen Schmitter‑Edgecombe, professor in the Department of Psychology, to deliver this year’s Distinguished Faculty Address. Five other College of Arts and Sciences faculty have also been selected to receive 2019 Showcase awards.

“Outstanding achievements of our faculty serve as an inspiration to our community,” said Provost Dan Bernardo said. “Showcase is an excellent opportunity to pay tribute to some of our colleagues who have made notable contributions to their fields and to the University community.“

Read more about our outstanding faculty:

Distinguished Faculty Address

Maureen Schmitter‑Edgecombe

Department of Psychology

Schmitter‑Edgecombe has made significant contributions to the field of clinical neuropsychology, and she continues to pursue cutting‑edge interdisciplinary work developing smart technologies for health care. Her research focuses on extending the quality of life and functional independence of the aging population and individuals with cognitive disorders, including neurodegenerative diseases and traumatic brain injury.

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award – Leadership

Lori Wiest

Professor, School of Music

Wiest has served as a university leader at the unit, college, and university levels. Not only is she currently professor of music and former associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, she is also director of choral activities and conductor of the WSU Concert Choir and Madrigal Chamber Singers. She has previously served the university as associate dean of the WSU Graduate School and interim chair of the Department of Foreign Languages and Cultures.

Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award

K. W. Hipps

Regents Professor
Department of Chemistry; Department of Materials Science & Engineering

Hipps’ scholarly work pertaining to the fundamental chemistry and physics of interfaces and surfaces has significantly advanced the field of surface science. As an educator, Hipps has trained and inspired the next generation of chemists in the field.

Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award

Ana Maria Rodriguez‑Vivaldi

Professor, School of Languages, Cultures, & Race
CAS Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Global Education

As a scholar, educator, mentor, and university leader, Rodriguez‑Vivaldi has displayed an unflagging commitment to women and the issues that affect their lives.

President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Instructors and Clinical Faculty

Clif Stratton

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of History

Stratton’s lessons enable students to see how and why an understanding of the past is critical to our lives today. He possesses an extraordinary ability to generate excitement among students about course content.

Emeritus Society Legacy of Excellence Award

Diane Gillespie

Professor Emerita, Department of English

Dr. Gillespie is an internationally recognized scholar and editor of late nineteenth and early twentieth‑century British literature, in particular that of modernist‑era writer Virginia Woolf. Since her retirement in 2001, Gillespie has remained a major voice in Virginia Woolf studies.


Learn more about the 2019 events and honorees on the Showcase website or WSU Insider website.