Four CAS faculty elected to state Academy of Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences, Washington State UniversityIn September, four CAS faculty will join the ranks of the Washington State Academy of Sciences, an organization that advances science in the state and informs public policy.

“It’s a great honor that so many WSU scientists have been recognized by the Washington State Academy of Sciences,” said WSU President Kirk Schulz. “They’ll be contributing their expertise to some of the most important issues we face in Washington. It’s another way faculty at Washington’s land‑grant university can help improve the lives of state residents.”



  • Christopher Keane
    • Vice President for Research at WSU
    • Professor of physics
  • Julie Kmec
    • Edward R. Meyer Distinguished Professor in the Liberal Arts, Department of Sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences
  • Maureen Schmitter‑Edgecombe
    • Professor, Department of Psychology, in the College of Arts and Sciences
  • Michael Skinner
    • Eastlick Distinguished Professor in Health Sciences, School of Biological Sciences in the College of Arts and Sciences

The CAS faculty are among eight total WSU faculty elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences this year.

The academy hosts events to raise awareness of key issues affecting the future of Washington’s people, prosperity and places, and working groups provide unbiased assessments to guide public policy‑making in the state. With the new additions, the academy will have more than 300 members statewide.

Read more about all of the new WSU members of the academy at WSU Insider.